Crowquill Records

TGLH "Every Man For Himself and God Against All"

This item is unavailable.

First issued by limited CD release in 2010, "Every Man For Himself and God Against All" is the first full-length by The Grasshopper Lies Heavy. Now remixed, remastered and reissued by Crowquill Records for the first time on vinyl in 2014.

Check out the exclusive stream of the entire album over at The A.V. Club


"Post metal is a broad brushstroke to describe the sounds of The Grasshopper Lies Heavy, but the band certainly slots into the vast sonic space with fans of Pelican or even Cloudkicker likely to find something here that they can sink their teeth into." ~ Jonathan @ CVLT Nation

"Its five-part, instrumental song-cycle lulls and erupts hypnotically, a pitched battle between delicate melody and elemental vastness." ~ Jason Heller @ The A.V. Club

"The Grasshopper Lies Heavy speak right to the heart, soothing and strange words, before reaching down your throat, and ripping it out." ~ Matt Baggins @ Two Guys Metal Reviews

"This is totally out of left field, and I for one am pretty glad to see that this type of stuff is coming back in a BIG way. Awesome." ~ Andrew @ Decibel Magazine


Originally engineered and mixed by Bob Catlin. Remixed by Aaron Coker (Writer/Producer/Engineer: Sisters of...), and remastered by James Plotkin (Engineer: Nadja, Sunn O))), ISIS, Pelican, Earth, ...). Artwork by Underbelly.

On this recording, The Grasshopper Lies Heavy was: James Woodard (Guitar, Noise), Mario Trejo (Bass, Noise), Chris Cheveyo (Drums).


Also pickup TGLH's other 2014 LP "All Sadness Grinning Into Flow" out now on Learning Curve Records.

Track Listing

  1. Part I
  2. Part II
  3. Part III
  4. Part IV
  5. Part V

Pressing Information

Released July 26, 2014. First pressing of 300 units on 140-160g mixed color (pink/black) vinyl. Instant download after purchase, and additional download card included so you can give it to a friend.